Meet Erika Cottle

Erika Cottle QKC.jpg

How do you identify?

Lesbian

Tell us about yourself:

Im just a 28 year old kid from Pittsburgh, PA. When I was 17 I moved to NY to attend Adelphi University on a full basketball scholarship. After college I decided to stay in New York and begin creating a life for myself. Through the next few years of partying and finding my young gay self, I was a personal trainer and an EMT/Paramedic. Almost a year ago I made another decision to to make new move and here I am in Los Angeles, for good. I am currently in the final stages of becoming a police officer and kicking off a new chapter in my life.

Fun fact(s) about you:

I played 5 years of professional women's football for the new york sharks. I LOVE anything scary (movies, haunted houses, long walks through the cemetery and other normal things) When it comes to sports I'm good at everything excluding golf and tennis. I'm a great swimmer. I have noooo sense of style and need a personal stylist (lol)

Any advice for young queers out there or advice you would have given your younger self:

Never ever ever be ashamed of who you are! Even though it sounds cliché, it does get better.

What does this community mean to you? 

Having a LGBTQ community is important to me because I know that I will always have an ally and community to confide in when needed. It'll always be a safe space for myself and others going through the same struggles.

Why did you want to be involved in this project?

Young queer kids need to see diverse representation of the community. Growing up I didn't see a positive representation of queer black women. All of the women that looked like me were in gangs or in jail, and I DEFINITELY didn't see them on TV. Kids, especially young black queer kids need to see their future selves in a positive light.

@_facetime5