Meet Christie S

Christie S QKC.jpg

How do you identify?

Queer, Genderqueer

Tell us about yourself: 

I'm a behavior analyst that works with individuals with disabilities across the lifespan. My gender and sexual identities have been a journey and I'm so grateful to have a career and personal life that allow me to be myself and serve the community I love at the same time. For many years I didn't know if this would be possible. I've lived in San Diego, Chicago, Houston, and now Long Beach. It's a dream to live close to the beach, my family, and a strong queer community.

Fun fact(s) about you:

I'm allergic to cold air. I lived in Morocco briefly. There is a mushroom growing from my bathroom ceiling and I've named him, "Mush."

Any advice for young queers out there or advice you would have given your younger self: 

When I was coming into my identities, I really appreciated seeing older folks living fulfilling lives and navigating queer adulthood. Seek out folks who can model healthy queer relationships with others and with themselves. We are all enough. We all deserve to be loved. Find people who will remind you of that and keep them close.

What is your favorite Pride / Queer memory?

The Dyke March in Chicago felt like home.

What does this community mean to you? 

For me, community is about sharing resources and coming together over a common bond. I love meeting queer folks and learning about how they've navigated relationships and their identities when we didn't have a straight-forward script to follow (pun intended). I love being around folks who embrace how unique and beautiful we all are.

Why did you want to be involved in this project?

Visibility! We are out here and we support you.